Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested t

Here the author argues that extreme level of hunting by humans is the actual cause of the extinction of different kinds of mammals in Kaliko Islands. However, the reasons given by the author for such argument are not cogent for a number of reasons.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the humans of Kaliko Islands relied on mammals along with fish for food. This assumption is made just being based on earlier archaeological findings which states that our early ancestors depended on hunting and fishing for food supply. However, only fish bones were found on the islands with no trace of mammal bones. Thus, question arises that why there were no bones of mammals if they were actually being the food source for humans? Without convincing answer to this question, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than a substantive evidence.

Secondly, stone knives were discovered by academicians in the islands which must have been used for hunting mammals according to the claim made by the argument. Nevertheless, it can also be assumed that those stone knives were used by the humans for killing birds such as hens, ducks, etc. after catching them, or even for removing the scales of fish or for cutting fish caught by them instead of hunting mammals. If the argument had provided evidence of using the stone knives for killing mammals then it would have been a lot more convincing.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerable strengthened if the author clearly mentioned relevant facts. Perhaps the mammals migrated to some other place due to change in environment in the islands. Many assumption like this can be made but no assumption can be considered accurate without solid proof which the given argument lacks to provide.