An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The prompt suggest that due to the vitamin A deficiency in people of Tagus, government should provide subsidy to farmers for growing a new variety of millets as it is the staple food in the region. But before reaching to any conclusion on this argument, there are four questions as below, that need to be answered.

Firstly, comparative data needs to be presented about the taste of two millet varieties. The argument states that millet is the staple food in Tagus, but it maybe due to several reasons including the taste of the crop. If the new breed of millet does not taste the same or even worse, it tastes bad then it will lead to people buying the old breed over the new one following a demand and supply problem. This is turn may cause the prices of old millets to be ballooned and people will be forced to consume a breed of this crop which they do not even like on daily basis.

Secondly, a study need to be conducted which analyze the growth of new variety of millet with respect to the environmental conditions and soil fertility, to ensure that new variety of millet grows at the same or better rate as older variety. If government provides subsidy to farmers for growing this novel variety of crop and they later find out that it takes double the time to grow in the weather conditions that are persistent throughout the year in the country, then it will not only lead to wastage of funds but also result in severe shortage of food in the region. Not just this, but a lesser yield in a staple crop may also lead to poverty in a farming dependent areas causing affecting economy of the country. Hence, weather this new crop yield is same as existing variety, needs to be tested to make sure that it is giving the same result as the older variety.

Furthermore, as the other benefits of millets in providing several nutrients can not be neglected. Therefore, it is highly questionable weather other health benefits of new variety of millet is identical with the existing crop. It is crucial to test the effects of new variety on a person's health overall and not just with respect to vitamin A. Millets are rich in carbohydrates and fiber and producing a new variety which is rich in vitamin A but deficient in other nutrients will lead to more harm than good. Specially if it is a staple food in Tagus, we can safely assume that majority of population will consume it on everyday basis. Prior to reaching towards a conclusion and encouraging people for having the new variety on diurnal bases, it is mandatory to evaluate a complete effect of this new crop on human body.

Lastly, it is important to answer weather the new breed of millet are cooked in the same way as old variety. If the new breed takes long to be cooked then it can also be major turnoff for people. Due to this people who may prefer to try it once may not buy it again. If a comparative data is presented displaying the cooking time and method of old and new millet variety then only it is a great idea to for government to invest.

Therefore, research oriented comparative data needs to be provided before reaching to a conclusion about weather this new breed of millets can replace the existing breed used by people on day to day basis.