An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Vitamin A is an uncompromisable necessity for human body. The prompt concludes, to combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can promote this new type of millet is based on the evidence that farmers of tagus can grow these seeds with the help of subsidies and will be easy adopted because millet is already a staple food. This argument is flawed and raises further questions which need to be answered before this argument can be evaluated. This essay describes three of these questions in detail.

At first, How can the new breed of millet be adopted readily? We have real world examples which show that a slight modification in the original product can led to a disastorous outcome. For instance, We have a bread "A" and due to deficiency of iodine we added a slight amount of iodine in it. That slight addition of iodine can cause significant damage to the product because it will not taste the same and it will not be the same in a visual sense. So a good evidence (a survey) is required. If author fails to answer the question then this will make the argument weaker.

Secondly, How do we know that farmer will be able to produce the new millet even with government subsidies? There is no evidence (or study) that gives us a numerical proof that the farmers will be able to cope up with the high production prices. Economic condition varies from individual to individual , it can not be assumed that if one farmer can then other farmers will also be able to produce it. So an evidence (perhaps an economic study) is required to answer this question. If author can not answer this question then this makes the argument weak.

At last, How do we know that intake of new millet breed will provide sufficient vitamin A for the population? It can be the case that the population of tagus takes only a small proportion of millet in their meals. Also, it is possible that the population required more vitamin A than what it can get from new millet. A proper evidence is required to give brief insight about the effectiveness of the food based vitamin A consumption. If author fails to provide the answer for this question then it makes the argument weak.

In conclusion, there are many questions that need to be answered before the argument can be evaluated effectively without bias or prejudices. So more evidence is required to answer these questions. If these question remain unanswered, the author's argument becomes weak and full of flaws.