An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Argument start by stating that international development organization as made a plan to curb vitamin A deficiency by developing and encouraging consumption of genetically modified millet. According to author it seems best plan because it is staple food . Consume this millet be free from Vit-A deficiency. This entire health benefit plan is built upon assumptions without considering or may say mentioning the important factors like people in tagus

adaptibility to new millet to the effect on cultivation after replacing old once with the new modified millet

Firstly, assuming that Vit-A deficiency can only be cause by not consuming vit-A rich food is big short come of this plan. Vit-A can be cause by many underline disease like deficiency of intrinsic factors, heart disease , autoimmune diseases . Even it people with such disease consume Vit-A rich food they remain still deficient.

secondly, why target or engineer only millet ignoring other rich vit-A food source is the big question here,. There is no such data/information stating that. which again shows the big assumption that people love millet to very extent ignoring people from all ages have the compliance towards millets consumption. Promoting all vit-A rich food would be best idea then just one which may overcome above mention problem and would have saved money invested in this project

Thirdly, The is also lack of data mentioning about the adaptability of new seeds by the land. No details given where they have same cultivation yield as before , does they take same duration for growing as formal onces and if not that is why they cost more money, or just company who made them need to balance the investment and profits. This question raised and answer to them would have give more support to the plan.

In sum, i would say after considering or given data about above raised questions this plan would have be stand strong rather then its current state with full of spectics .