An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims that the new millet breed, apparently rich in vitamin A, will be readily adopted by the people for cultivation to eliminate the vitamin A deficiency within the people and government should start promoting this new millet. He presents this conclusion on the basis of various evidence presented in the text. The argument might seem valid in first glance, but after thoroughly analyzing, I believe the speaker needs to provide more explanation for the unwarranted assumptions that are holding the conclusion precariously.

First of all, the author assumes that the new breed of millet engineered by them in the lab will thrive in the fields of Tagus. The growth of a crop not only depends upon the availability of its seed but also various environmental factors such as condition of land, rainfall, presence of moth, etc. The crop field of Tagus might be so desiccated that production of even normal crops is difficult. Additionally, the rainfall in Tagus may be much scant that the quantity of which may not be sufficient for the seed to grow. Even if the land is good and rainfall is sufficient, the proliferation of crop eating insects, if prevalent in the surrounding, can result in cultivation of very less crops. Moreover, even if the author provides evidence of feasibility of crops cultivation in Tagus, the growth of the new formed millet cannot be guaranteed. Until the organization provides strong evidence by testing the crop in the Tagus field, the argument is likely to fall.

Secondly, he holds an unwarranted assumption that since people already eat more millet, they are likely to accept the new breed of millet. Perhaps the people of Tagus eat millet as a side food and majority of the people eat rice as their primary source of nutrition and the cultivation of rice is more important for them than the millet. Furthermore, the consumption of millet might be more in one reason of the country and much less in other parts which, if true, does not provide sufficient information about the millet being the staple food. The people there might even be skeptical about adopting new type of breeds in their field. If these are true, then the argument won't hold water.

Finally, another unjust assumption by the author is that providing subsidies for the cultivation of these new seeds will answer all the financial problems related to it. Also, he does not mention the type of subsidies. May be the assistance thought to be provided to the farmers are limited only to the purchase of the seed. The seed may probably require much more maintenance than the conventional millet seed and the cost of production is much more than the cost of purchase. If so, then the impoverished people will not be able to cultivate it and the prediction will be faulted. Moreover, if the new seed produces much less harvest in comparison to conventional millet, provided the same amount of seed for both condition, then the farmers won't be able to make more profit and they are likely to reject the seed. If this holds true, then the argument will definitely fail.

So to sum up, unless the unjustified assumptions are strengthen with more evidence, the recommendation by the organization will not succeed.