An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In response to the vitamin A deficiency among the people in impoverished nation of tagus, author suggests that a new breed of millet has been engineered which has high vitamin A . Also he says that because it can be expensive overall , farmers get subsidies for farming it. The solution suggested by the author seems cogent to some point ,but there are certain question which need to be answered by the author before any conclusion.

Firstly, are there no other solution that the new expensive millet? The author says that the new costly millet has high vitamin A , but he does not include any other possible solution for that .there an be other sources of vitamin A which can be cheaper .Fruits are good source of vitamin A , the author doesnot point any . Maybe they could combat the deficiency with foods already grown in that area , or a new one that is less cheaper to grow can be introduced. before author recommends it there need to vigorous research on this .

Secondly , will the new breed proliferate ? The author does says that millet is staple food in tagus , but that is for the previous breed. The author doesnot mention any new changes required than the new breed of seed. author doesnot provide any prior experiment of growing the new breed. If every people enticed by vitamin A content of new breed goes for its farming and the millet doesnot grow well , then whole country can suffer another consequence. So , they should first plant the new breed in small area and observe its growth and fructition.

Thirdly , will the subsidy be enough for all the harvest ? According to author farmer will be given subsidies but will that be enough ? Without knowing the required condition for the new breed , how does the government decide the amount of subsidy ?will the government give subsidy only for seeds or for entire process of plant growing. The farmer might need trainings to grow this new breed. The new breed might entice anothet type of rodent. farmer might not know how to deal with those.

Thus , a subsidy will not be enough, trainings and more detail about the product should be given to the farmers.

In conslusion , the reasons provided by the author for combating vitamin A deficiency are baseless and the above mentioned three question should be answered by the author .