In some organizations, promotions are based on seniority, while in other organizations, promotions are based on performance. Discuss the advantages of each position. Then indicate which position you think is best and wh

promotion is a way of acknowledging people's work. In my opinion promotions should be based on performance. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all , performance based promotions inspire the employee to give their best at work . It becomes the motivational factor to learn and grow everyday. For example in a company, two employees are hired for the same job within a six months period and the employee hired later is working very hard and proving himself everyday. he even prepares for his work at home and gives better output than the employee hired earlier . then, at the time of promotion the employee hired earlier gets promoted just because he had worked for a longer period . if such things happen, then the non promoted employee is likely to get disappointed with the promotion policy . he might start searching for another company . this will be a great loss for the company .

Additionally, promotion based on seniority might encourage people to be negligent in their work.if an employee is aware that no matter how he performs , he will get promoted only after his seniors , he might not be interested in working enthusiastically. there will be no competition for work . employees will tend to skip their work or do only what the job requires rather than giving extra output to their work . For example, seniority based promotion is common in government offices in my country and there we can see every work getting delayed . even those employees who were very bright and efficient seemed unmotivated and working inactively .

In conclusion , promotion is the reward for the work of the employee and if rewarded accordingly the employee gets motivated Otherwise the company might face negative consequences . So , I think promotion should be based on performance.