Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students

University level education is so costly. There had been many controversies on whether it should be free or it should be charged .Although free education would remove all the economic burden from the students and they could focus only on study. I think that it should not be totally free and I will be discussing its pros and cons in following paragraph.

Firstly, due to high university cost only few students who are interested in achieving academic degree pursue their university education. If it were free, every student will join the classes. Ans since it is free, student would not be consider the worth of that education . I bet the number of student dropping in mid semester will be more. The money investment in the education would at least force people to continue their education. But people often do not value the things that they get for free.

Secondly, The fees collected from student can be used for the betterment of the universities which further provides great study material and healthy environment for students. Well equipped laboratories and research programs are possible because of that . If students are not charged , the investment for universities should be collected as more tax from people . And this will thus increase tax rate. Even those people who do not have child may pay for it . This may bring about other problems in the country.

However, it is evident that many bright student are dropping their education just because they are financially poor. For example Steve Jobs quitted his education as his family was going through financial crisis. For those bright and hardworking students, there should be some policy of scholarship and funding so that great talent lose their opportunity to learn and then later contribute more to the society only because they did not had sufficient money.

In conclusion, university education should not be free but it should a little flexible according to students caliber and their financial condition.