In some organizations, promotions are based on seniority, while in other organizations, promotions are based on performance. Discuss the advantages of each position. Then indicate which position you think is best and wh

The promotion system is different from one organization to the other. Some organizations promote their employees based on performance, however, the other ones promote according to the performance. Each system has its own pros. First, promotion according to seniority, is a well based system in the organizations which have routine work and they usually don't need creativity or exerting more effort to highly improve the productivity. For example, the government institutions or the financial departments in companies.People work there usually have a raise in salary each year, and they promote every several years to get a better services for them and for their family, The most important advantage in this system is stability and predictability, as the employees know for sure how their salaries will be affected. Also, how much will be the pension to take after retirement. Some employees may prefer that to guarantee a stable life for their families even when they get old. Second, promotion based on performance, is a highly recommended system to push the employees out of their comfort zone and to induce their will to do their best. this system is important for both the organizations that use them, also to the employees. From the organization's point of view, they will be sure that the employees will try harder to come up with creative ideas and to think out of the box ,because they will know that they can always get promoted or get a raise in their salary. On the other hand, employees who are eager to work will always be motivated to compete with their mates. Also, if some employees will work harder just to get the promotion, which will eventually benefit the organization. I think promotion based on the performance is a better system. Because it gives a fair opportunity to each employee to get promotion according to the effort and devotion they provide in work. For instance, one of my friends work now in a communication company. He graduated 1 year ago, and he had to work 3 years to promote from junior to senior, but thanks to the performance based system in his company, he is a senior engineer now with a much higher salary and medical insurance.