Is it more important to make new friends or to keep your old friends?

I think this point is tricky for me to discuss, because I keep my old friends as close as I can, for different reasons than why I make new friends.

My old friends are very important for me for many different causes, the most important one that I have lots of memories together, we were together in school, so we shared the successful moments in each others lives, we witnessed our graduation from high school, we choose what colleges we wanted to join together, in addition to that, I stayed a lot at my friends' homes and vice versa, so our families treated us like if we were all siblings, I really don't see that theses memories are replaceable. Also, I believe that my old friends can understand me and my behaviour in sometimes, in a way that no one else can do, even my parents, I think that's why I am very comfortable around them and I act according to my nature, and not to afraid to be judged. For instance, when me and my school friends meet nowadays, I can talk about my problems or the insecurities that I face in college or at home.

On the other hand, my new friends who I knew from college or the student activity that I joined, I chose them based on a very different criteria, of course I didn't choose them because they let me play with them or because we are in the same level in class, like I did when I was a kid. I chose them because we share the same interests and they showed their concern and good intentions towards me, they push me towards achieving my dream, actually, some of them do share these dreams with me, which made it much easier for me to make my way to the senior year. One other of having new friends, that they don't too much about you, unless it's your decision to share your past and previous experience with them, which is really comfortable for me.

So, I think keeping my old friends beside making new ones are both important for me, in this way I can keep my precious memories in addition to being pushed towards making new ones.