An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

Author states a vitamin A deficiency in Tagus and suggest a solution that they should fund subsidy for growing millet which is known as rich in vitamin A. Even if their conclusion is right, their plan may not be efficient since it depends on some flawed assumptions.

Firstly, they claim that since millet is already a staple, people get adopted easily. However, even they have stable as an agricultural good, people may not get used to this new breed as fast as author expects. Hence, this plan requires a more detailed demand analysis on society which covers how much people suffer from this deficiency and how much this plan cost at the end. In sum, without statistical analysis, they can not come up with accurate number for needs and a healthy plan.

In addition, this analysis is also needed to check the affordability. Author is sure about that subsidy but it is good to consider that government may not support such breed engineering since there can be more vital needs such as extra health service or homeless service. Starting such a project while the demand is low will surely waste of government sources.

Thirdly, they claim that since millet is already a staple, people get adopted easily and assume that it is the only solution for that issue. However, even they have stable as an agricultural good, people may not get used to or prefer to use this new breed as fast as author expects. Furthermore, they act like millet is the only solution for preventing this deficiency. In fact, they can easily find other alternatives which cost less since vitamin A is common in most of foods. In sum, before jumping into first plan immediately, they should check possible reactions of people and different less costly alternatives.

In conclusion, all the angles and statements illustrate that the proposed solution relies on weak logical assumptions. Before warranting any action, they should conduct a survey on total cost of the plan and the number of people suffering this for cost-benefit analysis and alternatives to compare for checking opportunity cost.