The true test of the greatness of a work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Art as an aesthetic related field is hard to measure its success and greatness, it has various measures such as power of its beauty, its message, integrity, popularity. To some extent, it can measured by popularity, however, in my opinion, there are far more important standards such as its subject and message, its visual design and combining all of these.

First important measure is its power of vision and succesful complexity. If we take understood by the masses is main property, then we should accept all simple art pieces as great and bombastic. However, a great art piece should be iconoclastic and innovative compared to previous works. For instance, a popular song, Summertime Sadness by Lana Del Ray has too many audiences but in fact, it is too simple and effortless work. This definition oversimplifies meaning of art actually daunts too many amateur artists.

Secondly, the most important thing is its message and how they implement this message into these pieces. For instance, Banksy, a successful street artist hint his message so professionally, and even not much people understand and appreciate it, nobody can gainsay its greatness.

Thirdly, integrity of art is important, that is, freedom of speech of an artist is for more necessary than understandable. Question of understanding by masses bring political concerns, and if one artist starts to consider political bound then he or she loses its freedom of speech and become an artist belongs to this party and its supporter. For instance, in Ottoman Empire, many leaders hired artist to praise and portray them as a gorgeous leader, and they have been apprecited by its immense supporters. However, this does not show the greatness of an artwork.

On the other hand, some works of art reveal increadible talent and no one can find any fault and become a classic. For instance, Van Gogh's The Scream is understanble and appreicated by the masses, in constrast, this root from its qualities not from simplicity or straightforward.

In conclusion, all things considered, measuring of art does not depend on only understanding by the masses, it comprises far more various standards.