Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni.

The author of the argument recommends that the Humana University should try the same method as the Omni University to increase the participants and solve the financial issue. This recommendation rests on the series of the surmises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

First of all, the argument mentions to the Omni University as a possible case which experiences this alteration from the traditional teaching system to the online one; however, this case and its experience are shaky. The duration which the Omni University tries this change is solely one year. The one year is a very short span, and its immediate outcome cannot be accepted as convincing and guaranteed evidence for its success. Maybe this university will not be as attractive as it is this year. Or perhaps the incomes from the internet courses will not be as sufficient as it is ongoing. The argument would have been fortified if it had lucidly presented the testimonies related to the continuity of success of this new teaching system at the Omni University.

Next, even if the success of the Omni University is invariable, there is no clue that this scheme will show the identical result at the Humana University. This case can be valid in a situation which both universities share the common and equal status; otherwise, it is an abortive task to compare and expect that the final result of the same method will be unique at both irrelevant universities. For instance, there is no evidence that the why the number of the enrollment does not grow during this three-year. Maybe this stability is related to the demographic stand. The statistic is more focused on the old and kids rather than youths. In this case, this alteration will be meaningless. Or there is no reason that the internet usage is favorable to the students of the Humana University. In this condition, the variation will be further cost since the students are reluctant to use the internet. Each scenario would present a particular end which is apart from the expected and assumed outcome in the argument.

Finally, the writer believes that the novel method could address the problem of meager budget. As long as there is no evident and statistical data about the Omni income from the new method, and expense of the Humana University for the preservation of the buildings, this assumption is a dangling one. First of all, the mentioned claim about the Omni University does not illustrate accurate information about the financial benefit; it lonely asserts that there is a decline in the expense of the class and dormitory. This assertion cannot be accepted as the supportive evidence for the monetary benefit. Second, there is no data that what is the cost of the Humana University to keep the building. There is no guarantee that the Internet-based education will cover and exceed the expense of the constructions. If the argument had completely sated the monetary value of new method and cost of the buildings, the argument could have been strengthened.

All in all, based on the reason mentioned above, this argument opens to debate. The author should present data about the accuracy of the study and similarity between the two universities and financial benefits. Otherwise, the argument is unpersuasive.