Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni.

The writer of the argument suggests that in order to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficiency, Humana University should promote online degree programs, however, this conclusion cannot be accepted because it relies on a series of unproven and dubious premises that I will delve into them below.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer refers to a statistical result but does not mention the source of information. The author points out that the number of students who have enrolled in online degree programs in Omni University increased by fifty percent during the last year. perhaps Omni University has reported a false or imprecise information to attract more future students by presenting online courses or has a few students that fifty percent of which is negligible in comparison to other universities.

The mere fact that online courses caused drop in expenditures cannot suffice to show that online courses are the most important factor for saving universities’ budget and will decrease the cost of preserving buildings. maybe other factors led to saving money. For example, students who attend to Omni University for traditional courses are more considerate than last years and maintain the university's milieu better than the last year or perhaps advancement in technology has reduced the costs in Omni University.

The third problem with the argument involves a weak analogy. The writer assumes that if Humana university promotes online courses like Omni University, it can decrease it expenditures and have more students. The writer should consider that not all circumstances such as facilities and students are the same in both universities. For example, maybe Humana University loses its high-ranked position by presenting online courses because they do not have enough quality as much as Omni University's online courses. In addition, perhaps students in Humana University are not satisfied with this kind of education, therefore, Humana university will encounter with lots of complaints.

To sum up, the writer's conclusion that is increasing online courses causes decrease in expenditures and increase in enrollment cannot be taken to be correct since, as it was clarified in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable and challenging. The writer can strengthen his assertion by providing firm evidences that the statics are correct and real, other factors do not affect a decrease in costs and increase in enrollment, and both universities’ conditions are similar from different aspects.