Last year PrepUp had record enrollment in their test prep courses, but yearly profits fell by nearly 30

percent. To the contrary, TopPreparation had comparable enrollment to the year be fore, with profits rising

by approximately 20 percent. This discrepancy most likely results from the fact that PrepUp teaches only

live, in-person classes, which require expensive rental spaces and teaching equipment. Although

TopPreparation’s total enrollment remained unchanged, its online enrollment increased by 50 percent, and

online classes have a much lower overhead. In order to address these issues of profitability in the coming

year, PrepUp will begin offering online test prep courses.

The argument claims that PrepUp should switch into providing online preparation courses for increasing the profits. While it might be true that making this change could potentially increase the profitability, the argument is not entirely logically convincing since it misses some crucial counterfactors. Taking inspiration from one and making changes to the other is really not going to help unless we establish similarity among the two organizations. Further, it is not clear if the profit increase in TopPreparation should be completely attributed to online education system. Also, other factors governing the profits are not mentioned and should be quantified and carefully weighed before making any final claim.

The largest leap in the argument is that the two organizations are assumed to be inherently same. Maybe they are entirely different, and possibly the onlie model of education does not work at all for PrepUp. For instance, if PrepUp is an institution which instructs only primary school children aged between 6-10, while TopPreparation guides only college students then the entire argument fails. Clearly, a system of online education will not fly with children since they would not have necessary devices like computers, laptops etc. So it is prudent to ask if the two organizations can be really considered similar in the first place.

Even if the organizations are the same it is necessary to question if the increased profit of TopPreparation can be entirely attributed to the online system of education. It might be the case that this organization increased the fees for offline classes and only the in-person classes contributed to the profit. The online system may be just the supplement along with an offline system and that might be a possible way TopPreparation increased its enrolment in online classes and increased the profits. So concluding that only online system caused the profit increase is clearly flawed. Additionally, the percentages do not provide a complete picture of the actual increase, since the actual amount amounting to 50% profit increase for TopPreparation might be inconsequential for PrepUp.

Finally, it is wise to consider the other side of profit i.e. expenses. It is not clear from the argument if there was any decrease in expenses like teachers' monthly payment, time of classes and so on. If the salary of teachers were to be reduced and assuming all other factors to be more or less constant it will definitely increase the profitability of the institute. So one should consider how have the expenses changed for the two organizations over and whether really they cause a jump in the profits.

The argument presents an interesting claim about making a change by adopting online education classes. However, the questions of similarity, attribution and affect of other factors remain unwarranted. These steps might not be enough to establish the validity of the hypothesis beyond a doubt, but they would help in determining whether the pursuit of the hypothesis is a good use of time, funds, and attention.