Cot-Ten, a cotton production company, has recently faced profitability issues based on the use of

Chemical X in its manufacturing process. The main by-product produced when using Chemical X is

covered under stringent environmental regulations, making it very difficult and expensive to dispose of. A

similar processing product, Chemical Y, has recently been discovered, and can be used by Cot-Ten at a

minimal cost of switching. The CEO of Cot-Ten has declared that the company will increase profits by

switching to Chemical Y by the end of the month.

While it may be true that adopting chemical Y is going to increase profits because of minimal cost in switching the argument is flawed since it fails to take into account other counterfactors. It misses if availability of chemical Y is easy enough to be used for production. The argument does not mention if same of chemical Y will be required to do the work as done with certain amount of chemical X. Finally, it omits if chemical Y has other harmful effects on workers, environment and society as a general.

The largest leap in the argument is that the CEO of Cot-Ten assumes that chemical Y is as easily available as chemical X. It is mentioned that chemical Y has been recently discovered and it is very likely the large scale availability of it is not possible yet. Further, even if it is somehow available it is wise to ask if it requires lesser/similar transportation cost to chemical X. In case of high transportation costs the profit is going to be severely impacted and might drop down as well. Hence, it is necessary to find out the logistics of chemical X and check if it is readily available at reasonable handling charges.

Even if the availability was not an issue it is not clear if the running cost of chemical Y will be lower or equal to that of chemical X. It is stated that chemical Y is similar processing product but it is missing other crucial factors like if cost of chemical Y is same as that of chemical X. Or if the amount required for doing some processing is similar or nearly identical for both the chemicals. Although the switching costs are low but in the long run other costs will play a major role. It is essential to examine and quantify the overall production cost incurred using both the chemicals, this comparison will help the company understand the implications of using one chemical over the other in long run.

The argument can be strengthened by validating if there no other negative implications of chemical Y. Even if chemical Y might not be under environmental regulation yet it is important to think if it will be in near future. It is equally essential to also consider the safety of workers, environment and surroundings. Does the usage of this chemical lead to any health issues in employees? Does it adversely affect the air or water or soil in the surroundings? Does it affect environment or ecosystem in any way? Once these questions are answered then we can guage if it is fine to supplant chemical X with chemical Y.

Although the argument presents an interesting argument it lacks certain serious considerations which keeps it from being a logically cogent case. The argument can be strengthened by considering and understanding the logistics, take into account the price factors, and implications of usage on the environment and society as a whole. Since it is mentioned that chemical Y has been recently discovered it certainly casts doubt if it can be immediately useful for the industry and production which generally work at scale. At the end we should remember that we should prohibit use of any such material which even though might be cheaper but causes irrevocable harm to the nature.