The best way for the society to prepare its young people for leadership

Although a reasonable person might argue that cooperation should be preferred over competition for overall development of the society, I believe a balanced approach is necessary and taking an extreme approach is not beneficial. In my view, cultivating seeds of cooperation and not competition may make individuals less competent; it is equally necessary to compete in a healthy way.

Let us consider the case of governments and reflect back how these organizations have changed with time. In earlier days the countries were mostly ruled under a single king, the system termed as a monarchy. Over time, these governments have become large organizations where the power is more distributed. One of the most successful countries in the world, the United States, follows democracy. The founding stone of democracy is cooperation, the government is run in cooperation with people for the benefit of society.

From the example of governments let us now move towards sports. In the very first lesson, a sports' teacher emphasizes the idea of team-players and cooperation. For instance, in Cricket it is important that players perform as a team and make it win. When a player is bowling the ball it is very important that the other players, fielders, also concentrate and prevent the opponents from making runs. And it has been observed that if the fielders chose to not perform well, a single bowler in no way can make the team win.

It is also equally important to appreciate competitiveness. For example, if we take a closer look at the governments, they are competitive as well. The epitome of competitiveness is the very well known race of countries for being first in various avenues like space, transportation, telecommunication etc. Different nations spend their money and resources in order to be the first in either reaching Mars, making biofuels, creating nuclear weapons and so on. This competitiveness brings the best out of any particular nation, it accelerates the growth of the country as a whole at a much faster pace. Additionally, in sports, there are many one-player games like boxing, shooting, swimming and so on. It is very important to be competitive and carefully understand how the competitors' strategies.

To me, adopting an approach which best fits the situation is necessary. And so it is necessary to have an understanding of the views, cooperation and competition. As we see from the aforementioned examples of government and sports, in different scenarios we have to make a choice among one of these options and none is supreme over the other.