School should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

While a reasonable person would argue that school should take the responsibility of instructing students even out of academic curriculum, since such aspects of life skills (including how to deal with people etc.) play a very important role in real life. However, it is equally important to understand the issues of practicality and subjectivity associated with this. First of all it is challenging to decide what things/activities will be taught as a part of "non-academic" curriculum. Even if that is decided we will have to ponder upon if we really have ample instructors and resources to support this.

Let us first consider the challenge of deciding what does and what does not come under the umbrella of non-academic curriculum. For example, consider a country like India where there is a huge diversity of people. In different parts of the country people follow different religion, different culture, speak native languages and so on. Now, in such a heterogeneous society deciding what forms the non-academic curriculum is a daunting task, undoubtedly, different sections will have different preferences and demands. On the other hand, some might argue that this scenario does not hold for countries like United States of America which are more homogeneous as a society. Here too, even if society as a whole is one but individuals do have different opinions and ideologies. And so coming to a consensus is hard even for such a uniform population.

Further, even if the curriculum is somehow agreed upon; we will have to ask ourselves do we really have enough resources for this? Many countries today do not have enough teaching professionals and infrastructure even to support the basic education. For instance, consider India, the population is increasing at a rate of seven individuals per second and while the resources remain almost the same for years. And until the rate of increase in resources surpasses this the rate of growth in population the solution is not feasible for a long term.

And finally, it is also prudent to ask if children really need such a training. In my view, it is wiser to let individuals learn through their experiences in life and learn for themselves. If they are instructed about everything they might always look for a helping hand, which will make them a liability on others. This ideology is inspired from the well-known example of butterfly, which leaves its baby inside the cocoon and does not help it to break the shell. That way the baby breaks the shell by itself and is ready to survive the external environment and its hardships. Similarly, we should let children experience and provide only necessary help and not go beyond the limits.