Five years ago, the local university built two new dormitories through different contractors: Aleph

Construction and Gimmel Builders. The buildings were nearly identical, though it cost Gimmel Builders

approximately 20 percent more to construct their dormitory. Aleph’s dormitory, however, has required

approximately 10 percent more in maintenance costs per year over the past five years. Therefore, to

construct their new dormitory with the lowest overall cost, the local university should hire Aleph

Construction.

The argument puts forth an interesting claim of selecting one construction contractor over the other. The stated reason compares the construction costs and maintenance costs for nearly identical dormitories. However, the argument lacks some considerations and as a result is not logically convincing. The argument although compares the construction costs, it misses if the circumstances were really same. The same goes for maintenance costs as well. Also, the expert does not account for changes that might have occurred over time (five years); all these factors seriously compromise the study's conclusion.

The largest leap in the argument is that changes over time are not considered. It might be the case that Aleph Construction used substandard building materials previously but now with time they have changed the strategy. They might have adopted a strategy where they would use high-quality raw material which will definitely have a higher construction cost but will have limited maintenance over time. It is essential to identify how these construction businesses have evolved over time before making a final call.

Further, it is prudent to ask why is the maintenance cost higher in one of the dormitory. It is very likely that it is due to the residents and not because of the construction itself. Maybe the living style of students in Aleph's dormitory is more extravagant and so they require more services, and hence the maintenance costs shoot up. From the given statement it is not evident if the building was the only factor that leads to a higher cost of maintenance.

Similarly, the reason for higher construction cost is not very obvious. It might be the case that Gimmel Builders had a tough terrain to work on as compared to the Aleph Cosntruction. As a consequence, construction costs went up to compensate for harder and more work required. Unless the reasons behind these differences are clear it is risky to main a conclusion.

While argument presents a compelling argument on deeper analysis one finds that there many logical flaws that should be addressed. To strengthen the argument it is necessary to attribute the varied differences to different factors like quality of material used, living standard of people and so on. It is also important to consider the changing behavior of companies over time. In the extreme case one of the companies might have been shut down or moved to some other business. If anything, deeper understanding of the statistics is absolutely necessary for making any further claim.