The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

The argument presents reasons as to why all the bulb lightings changed to LED lights. While it may be actually true that LED lights might be more cost efficient, the argument is flawed due to several counterfactors. The argument omits the possibility of more frequent burn outs of LEDs, which can lead to increase in overall running costs. It is also assumed that LEDs can entirely serve the purpose of the bulb. All these factors seriously compromise use of LEDs in place of the light bulbs.

The largest leap in the argument is that considering LEDs will fulfill all the functions of a bulb. It might be the case that people in these public buildings are unwilling to work under LEDs which are more bright and can cause harm to their eyes. This calls for a study that can establish if LEDs are the perfect replacement of bulbs.

Even if we consider that LEDs are equally functional as that of bulbs the argument omits if these require more maintenance costs. It is likely that LEDs burn out more frequently than bulbs and so inspite of being cheaper the overall costs might go up. Additional information on whether durability of LEDs and its comparision to the bulbs is necessary to understand the implications of the shift on the long-term costs.

Finally, the study also assumes that burnt-out bulbs are useless, it might be the case that they can be repaired and relieve the city council of the monetary burden. It has to be established that a bulb once burn out is beyond use.

While the argument presents an interesting plan of cutting lighting costs, the argument has crucial gaps that should be taken into account before making conclusion. First, the argument omits if LEDs are acceptable to people who work in public buildings. Further, there might ill-effects of brighter light on the eyes of these people. The argument can be strengthened by finding out if the cost of maintaining a LED light is lower than that of a bulb. These steps might not be enough to establish the validity of the hypothesis beyond a doubt, but they would help in determining whether the pursuit of the hypothesis is a good use of time, funds, and attention.