Five years ago, the local university built two new dormitories through different contractors: Aleph
Construction and Gimmel Builders. The buildings were nearly identical, though it cost Gimmel Builders
approximately 20 percent more to construct their dormitory. Aleph’s dormitory, however, has required
approximately 10 percent more in maintenance costs per year over the past five years. Therefore, to
construct their new dormitory with the lowest overall cost, the local university should hire Aleph
Construction.
Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions in the expert’s claim. Be
sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the
argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted
The author claims to suggest having a contract with Aleph Construction based on the assumptions which may or may not be valid,
under certain circumstances. The supposition includes percentages in values which is vague and cannot lead to practical inference
of overall cost. One cannot determine the actual cost without having acurate figures, which by statement, is also, five years old study.
In order to estimate it more acurately, the reasearch needs to determine the definition of "nearly identical" as well.
One of the leaps in this claim is the involvement of percentages rather than having actual figures. What is the actual amount
of 20 percent more? What is 10 percent more? While it is mentioned in percentages, we are not sure about either 20 percent of
construction is more than 10 percent of maintainance cost per year over the five year term? The author assumed that 20 percent construction cost
is higher than 10 percent of maintainance cost for five years. If so, then there may be or may not be a case that after 15 years,
maintainance cost cross the figures of construction costs, keeping the depreciation of money over the time.
Additionally, a supposition is inherited that these two companies have same strategy of work five years back and now. While this supposition
can be true, it can be false due to advancement in technologies over the period of time. There may be a case that Aleph Builders is currently working
with the same equipments which were used five years back, nevertheless, Glimmel Builders updated their instruments with the passage
of time and thus proved more effective towards constuction process. If so, then our construction cost will remain the same as it was before,
on the other hand, we can reduce cost by utilizing latest technologies from Glimmel Builders. Hence, to strengthen the argument,
we need to perform a study about latest projects of these two builders.
Lastly, it is also stated that five years back, the contracts for two builders were "nearly identical". Are they 100 percent same?
May be there is one bedroom less than other, so the cost will remain the same? How much cost should fluctuate? The assumption needs to cater
so that one can differente the overall cost.
The author has an interesting deduction with the past events, however, these hypothesis are made from assumptions which may or
may not be correct. While the records are of five years back, one should consider their latest projects to make a good choice. Moreover,
study involved percentages which lead to vagueness and actual overall cost cannot be deduced.