Government funding for pure science endeavors, such as space exploration, should be reduced in order to

direct more funding towards humanitarian science projects.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to consider specific instances for which this statement

may or may not be true.

A broad view is mandatory for a government to run a country. A view which keeps checks on many programs-

economical programs, space programs, literacy programs, etc. The author states that the funds for science projects should

be reduced to increase funds for humanitarians projects. However, in my opinion, if there is an urgent need, only then, the government should reduce funds for science projects. Moreover, there are also other ways to fund humanitarian projects

instead of reducing the budget for projects like space programs.

A government runs a myriad of programs that contributes different percentages over positive growth of society - free education programs

contribute more than programs that provide loans, thus government can decide other programs that can be halt instead of reducing funds for science projects. For example, pakistan - with low literacy rates - runs a lot of programs and when it's current deficit increases, the government increases taxes to make sure all the programs run effectively- including pakistan's space program. it is a common strategy to make a priority list, concerning impact on society, and then filtering out the superfluous programs to keep the most efficacious programs up and healthy. In short, instead of reducing funds for the science program, one can consider alternate solutions as well.

Alternatively, there are cases were humanitarians projects are more important than science processes. For instance, when people of a country have low per capita income with no access to food and clean water, which ultimately affects the quality of life, should focus on humanitarian

projects to uplift the society first. To illustrate, Sindh - a province of pakistan - in 1980 had people with no quality food and water.

people drink dirty water to fulfill their thrust. if this is the case, then it is morally acceptable to first work on people's quality of

life than participating in the space race. To conclude, if the situation is worst than humanitarian projects deserve to be on the top.

In contrast, if a country has a good Gross Domestic Product and its people have a better quality of living, then the reduction in funds in science projects is not justified. For example, India is working on science projects and have a not-so-good quality of living. making its route to space is a good move. In my opinion, one should consider their situation first that how much it is important to reduce funds and should find alternative ways

of funding as well by making a priority of all programs.