Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The author claims to increase the profit of a company X by increasing daily work hours from 8 to 10 hours and reducing one weekday of the work, that is, Friday. While the author mentioned that this is a new policy, it is based on various assumptions, that this essay will talk about. Firstly, it is assumed that 10 hours of work will be more productive than the traditional 8 hours work. Moreover, a supposition is stated that profit will increase if commute time is reduced and making Friday a holiday from work.

One of the leaps in this argument is that daily work hours are directly proportional to profit. Author supposed that increasing 2 hours of work every day will lead to more profit, due to an increase in productivity, nevertheless, consequences are not considered for this policy. After a long 8-hours working day, does an employee have enough physical and mental health to continue for 2 more hours? While this remains an important question, proper research is needed with enough target audience, to collect the situation of mental and physical health of employees. If not so, this can lead to less productivity due to an additional 2 hours wastage and a Friday off day.

Additionally, it is supposed that commute time has a relation with employee's morale, however, it is not asserted that how much impact is there on employees' productivity, which will lead to a boost in profit. If company X is in a heavy traffic city, then it is justified to say that commute time will consequently impact employees' morale, in contrast, if commute time is already less, then it will have a minimal impact on employees, thus lesser increase in profit. In short, it is necessary to gather traffic data form the city where company X is placed. Otherwise, this policy will not have a significant effect on profit.

To conclude, the author seems to assume that increasing hours will lead to increased productivity irrespective of considering mental and physical health. Also, relation with commute time and employees' morale needs additional support with research, or else, this policy will have a negative impact on the company.