"Laws should not be rigid or fixed. Instead, they should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places."

The statement contends that the law should not be rigid or fixed, rather it should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places. It can be conceded that there should be proper considerations about the various aspects such as circumstances, times and places. As it supports the arbiter for the proper judgement making about the particular case and bring justice. Beyond this concession, however, the statement's contentions are indefensible from both empirical and normative standpoint.

Firstly the defination of the law clearly states about the uniformity and equality for all the members of the society, thus there is no flexibility about the law to be attained. Also suppose if there is an accident in which a pedestrion dies and the car driver was found to be drunk driving and was in a hurry to reach his home as his wife had a stroke half an hour before the accident, while he was having alcoholic beverages with his best friend at a bar. The cirmustances and situation suggests that the culprit should be exonerated as he was in an exigency, but then it is justifiable to the victim that died in the car accident. This account also explains that there can be numerous accounts as such and the law if would have been flexible the culprit walks freely.

Secondly the explaination about the circumstances and the case is to be done by the advocate or the lawyer of the respective sides for example take the case discussed above, if the car driver had not been drunk and yet if the accident takes place then the explaination of the circumstances had to be done by the lawyer so that the case ends up with the compensation and not with death penalty or imprisonment. Thus the law is obstinate here as well and it gives the judgement in its bounds. Otherwise if it had been flexible then the driver might be suffering with the death penalty instead but becaus eof its obstinity it gives the accurate judgement.

Also there can be considered a case where the robbers tries loot a house and in the fight one of the robbers gets killed by the house owner, here as according to the law the penalty for murder is punishment but then according to the provision it can be proved that he got killed in the self-defense and the house owner walks free, thus here the circumstance was taken into account. But the law here is also firm as a mountain; house owner walks free because he did not intentionally murdered the robber.

To sum it up the suggestion is indefensible that the law should be flexible but rather the information about circumstances, times, and places should correctly be put in front of the law and it give the right judgement.