The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This analytical piece argues that the number of people of Mentia who are complaining of the headache suffering will decline more. For, this conclusion the author reasons that, the increase in the salicylates ingestion of the people on Mentia reduces complains about headache. However, careful scrutiny of the argument reveals that there are several key factors that are not provided in the argument. Thus, the conclusion of the author is indefensible.

Firstly, the author states that the rise in the salicylates has been found to correlate with the decline in the number of people complaining about the headache. But, there is no mention of the about the study undertaken. It may as well be possible that the decline in the number of people complaining about headache is due to some other reason and no the very same reason that author provides. Thus, the author must provide with study about the correlation between the people complaining about the headache and the increase in the amount of the salicylates.

Secondly, the author also states that food companies have found that the salicylates can also be used as a flavor additive. This raises many queries about the salicylates that, does the people of Mentia like the taste of the salicylate as an additive flavor? There is no mention of the number of people who does and does not like it's taste. There is also another question raised that is it safe enough to take salicylates in such an amount? It might be possible that it may cause some harmful effects after increasing a certain amount.

Also, it is mentioned that the salicylates are the members of the same chemical family as aspirin, and so they are assumed to help in the decline of the people complaining about the headache. But, there is no mention that the salicylates also produces the same effects as the aspirin does. It is also possible that the effects of salicylates are different from the aspirin. Belonging to the same group of the chemical family does not mean that they have same effects on the human beings. Also, there is no mention of any study that provides support to this assertion.

To sum it, the argument of the author that the increase in the amount of salicylates reduces complains about headache is unpersuasive. To bolster it further, author must provide with clear and concrete proof, perhaps by the way of detailed analysis. Thus, to finally evaluate the argument further information about the effects of salicylate on human body must be provided.