Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This topic raises a cotroversial issue whether, the government should place any restrictions on the scientific research and development. Indisputably, there are many issues where the obstructions are necessary for the betterment of the society. Nevertheless, inventions are mostly the results that are unexpected and are achieved because of the theoretical misconceptions that are done mistakenly while carrying out the experiment. Thus, I would disagree with the contention that the Government should impose restriction on the scientific research and development and would agree that the research and development work should be done withount any obstruction.

Firstly, there are many researches and innovations that are being carried out in this century of knowledge. The innovations are generally the result of the works carried out somewhat differently than what was expected during the hypothesis. Now, if these projects are restricted than the overall development of the Nation will be hindered and the progress of the nation might get affected on a large scale. To illustrate, let us take an example where there is multinational company working on a project of making the washing powder for the clothes. However, if the project is restrained by the government than the company might fail and this might result into loss of jobs of many people. Hence, there should not be restriction on the scientific research and development.

Secondly, due to the restriction there is block on the increment of the people. As we know, that there is something new being innovated every minute of the clock and thus if the Government of any one nation decides to resist the innovative project work than the skill power of that Nation will decrease greatly and as a result the Nation will start to deteriorate. So, in order to rebuild the Nation back on it's feet it is very necessary that the research and development project works continue without any obstruction. Also, this will help in making the Nation dexterous and competent with the other Nations of the world.

Admittedly, there are some innovations which if does not occur are good for the betterment of the human society. There is an example such as research in the nuclear field should be refrained in order to to achieve peaceful and oppurtunistic environment. But, if the research in the nuclear field are done so that to achieve the energy in the form of electricity or mechanical power than there should be no issue with such a research project. Therefore, there might be some projects that should be restricted to some level. But, on the major scale scientific research and development projects should not be hindered.

To sum up, the contention of the author is indefensible that the Government should place some restrictions on the research and development field is indefensible. This contention is contrary to the overwhelming evidence that the scientific projects should not be obstructed. Thus, as long as some measurements are performed, or some areas are involved the conclusion that the Government should not hinder the research and development projects holds credit.