Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this analytical piece argues that the western gazelle are almost virtually eliminated. For this arument, the author reasons that incerased number of predators must caused such a decrement in the population of the western gazelle. However, on careful scrutiny it reveals that the argument provided by the author provides little credible support to the author's argument. Hence, the argument of the author is unpersuasive.

Firstly, it is assumed without the proper evidence that the virtual decrease in the number of the western gazelle is not due to rain, but because of the increment in the number of the predators. There is no statement which provides clear indication to that. Also it raises some question about the gazelle and the predators, as if, does the predators satiate themselves only on the western gazelle? If it is yes than why the 100 lions from eastern preserve were brought to the western side, instead being taken somewhere else? Also, it raises a question whether, how did these predators did not eliminate western gazelle there in western preserve? So, there are many questions to which the author must answer to.

Secondly, it is not clearly stated that whether, the area of the eastern preserve is large enough to accomodate these many animals or not. Also, as mentioned in the argument the western gazelle and the eastern gazelle are close relatives. Thus, it raises a questions how come only the western gazelle got eliminiated due to increment in the predators? Also, there are many other species in that reserve why are the only target of the predators? These questions raise some serious flaws that are present in argumrnt and answers to which would help in proper evaluation.

Thirdly, there is another assumption that the slight rainfall does not affect the health of the western gazelle. It also raises a querry that how can it be presumed? There is no mention of any study or research that might state that the reduction in the rainfall will not affect the health of the western gazelle. Thus, there should be some mentio nof the study or findings which wolud provide some support to the assumption that the less rainfall is not the cause of the elimination of the western gazelle.

To sum the argument of the author that virtual elimination in the number of the western gazelle are due to the increase in the number of the predators indefensible. To bolster it further, the author mmust provide with some more concrete evidences, perhaps with the help of the detailed research of the resons of the reduction in the number of western gazelles. Finally to better assess the argument more informaton about the western gazelle is needed.