The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this arguments argues that for the prosperity of the business, it should only hire the excutives who sleeps no more than 6 hours a day. The argument falis to provide with the several key factors with the help of which the it could be evaluated. To support the argument, author reasons about the study which was undertaken of meager number of 300 people. However, on better scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support to the argument. Hence argument can be considered as incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author's argument is based on the study done for the 300 male and female. This gives rise to many questions such as who are these 300 people? There is no mention about their vocation. Also, it is necessary to know whether, these people are working at day jobs or nights? Because, it is normally seen that people working nights usually possess less sleep. Thus, there are many questions that need to be answered for the author to hold this peice vialble.

Secondly, the author study depicts that those, whose executives need no more sleep than 6 hours have higher rating and progress. This gives risse to many queries such as, How is the number of hours of sleep of an executive is a measure for the progess of the advertising firm? It is also possible that the executive might be awake for most hours a day but, instead of doing the firms works he spends time liesurely would than be the firm's progress increase or hindered? So, this example provides proof that the study is baseless and thus holds no credit.

Also, here there is an analogy between the Mentian Advertising firm and the other firms. But, this analogy creates many question such as, on what basis the comparison has been done? What if the experience of one executive is very much and the other executive is a neophyte, and still the newer one produces better results than the experienced one? What are the basic qualites based on which the comparison has been done? Therefore, there are many clarification to be made by the author for the proper examination of the argument.

In conclusion the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, author must proved with some clear and concrete piece of evidence, perhaps by the way of detailed analysis of the advertising firms that are progressive. The better assessment of the argument can be done if the data is more clear and containing the credible proof that supports it.