From a draft textbook manuscript submitted to a publisher.

"As Earth was being formed out of the collision of space rocks, the heat from those collisions and from the increasing gravitational energy of the planet made the entire planet molten, even the surface. Any water present would have evaporated and gone off into space. As the planet approached its current size, however, its gravitation became strong enough to hold gases and water vapor around it as an atmosphere. Because comets are largely ice made up of frozen water and gases, a comet striking Earth then would have vaporized. The resulting water vapor would have been retained in the atmosphere, eventually falling as rain on the cooled and solidified surface of Earth. Therefore, the water in Earth's oceans must have originated from comets."

The author augues that the water in the Earth's ocean is produced from the comets that originated. To justify the argument he reasons that as comets are largely made of the ice that is frozen water and gases when string with the surface they must have vporised, but due to gravitation would have remained in the atmosphere, falling as rain. However, the careful scrutiny provides evidence that the argument of the author is full of loopholes and they provide little credible support to the conclusion. Thus, the argument of the author is unsubstantiate.

Firstly, there is an assumption that the heat produced due to the collisions and from the gravitational energy of the planet made the entire planet to molt and thus any water would evaporated into the space. There is no proof or study that provides any kind of resemblance to the above statement. Even more, it might be possible that the evaporated water would be retained in the earth's atmosphere due to gravitational pull. However, it also not clear whether there was presence of water or not before the collision took place?

Also, there is an assertion that when the planet reached its size its grvitational pull was strong enough to hold the gases and water vapour. This, statement also raises many querries whether, the gravitational pull was absent when the planet was not about its current size? Also, the author should provide the research and the basis of this assertion that he made with the proof of it. It is also possible that the planet was retaining the water vapour and the gases even before it came to its size. Possibly, the size of the planet might be the same since the collision took place.

Although, there is another assumption that the raining water is responsible for the oceans that are present. Well, it is a statement without any evidence supporting it, possibility is that oceans were present at the time of the collision and they have been there since. Therefore, the author should provide the credibility it requires so that the argument can be assessed thoroughly. It is also possibility that the earth's formation of its current shape might have been incomplete and thus there could be a gravitational anomaly, due to which the evaporated particles from the commet just went off earth's atmosphere. Thus, there can be many hypothesis available. But, rendered proof only justifies it.

To sum it up, the argument of the author that the rainfall is responsible for the formation of the ocean lacks several evidences. To bolster it further, the author must present clear and concrete evidence, perhaps by the way of detailed analysis of the formation of the earth. Finally, to better evaluate the argument futher information is required.