The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this analytical piece argues that Acme would benefit greatly by requiring their employees to use the Easy Read Course. Several key factors are missing with the hewlp of which the argument can be evaluated very easily. However, on careful scrutiny it is revealed that the evidences stated by the author provides little credible support to the conclusion made by the author. Thus, the argument of the author is incomplete and unsubstantiate.

Firstly, it is mentioned in the argument that one graduate of the course can read a 500-page in only two hours. This raises many questions that must be answered like What is the font size used? What is the page size used? It might be possible that the font size is larger than some standard size. Also, at the same time it is possible that the size of the paper used is comparatively smaller. If it is true than reading 500-pages might not be considered an achievement as, discussed by the author. Hence, adequate information about these questions must be provided by the author for the better evaluation on this contention.

Secondly, it is stated that another graduate got promoted from the post of assistant manager to vice president within the span of a year. But, there is no where mentioned in the argument that this promotion is due to the effects produced by the benefits of him undertaking the course. It might also be possible that the promotion was due to ardent nature and steadfastness for his vocation. Thus, the author must provide with the specific information about the promotion of the graduate in order to, better understand the arguement.

Thirdly, it is assumed in the contention that the faster you can read, the more you can grasp in single workday. Yet, there is no evidence that supports the assumption made by the author. Therefore, the author must provide some proof of the mentioned statement for better assessment of the contention. It is also possible that the assumption is wrong and hence, the conclusion might get affected. Assuming that it is true it does not gaurantee that whatever grasped will be true.

To sum up, the argument of the author that the Acme would greatly benefit by asking their employees to take the Easy Read Course is unpersuasive. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear and concrete evidence that supports his contention, perhaps by the way of detailed analysis on how the Easy Read Course is helpful in increseing benefits for the Acme. Thus, further more information is required for the better evaluation of the analytical piece presented by the author.