Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This topic raises a very controversial issue of whether, students pursuing studies spend at least one semester of studying in the foreign countries. Indisputably, there are many student exchange programme running in many countries for the purpose of the mutual give and take of ideas and knowledge. But, making it a compulsion for all the students provides no legitimate contention. Thus, I would like to argue against the assertion of the author that it should not be necessary to for the students of the College and University to study in a foreign land.

Firstly, there might be many students in the colleges and universities that are not financially sound enough to afford the foreign trip for the studies. Also, there might be some students whose must study and earn at the same time for the financial family support. These are the examples of the students who cannot afford to opt for the foreign even for the academic purposes. Yet, by the mandation of the this sort of programme these students might lose their studies at all.

Secondly, student always wishes to go to places that provides better academics than the current one. But, all the students cannot achieve that because of the limited entries available. Thus, it gets difficult for the majority of the students to get admitted in the country of their choice. Also, it might be possible that the country to which student gets admitted might not offer the required course the student want to pursue. Therefore, it will only make it worse for the students who enrolls in such an institution.

Admittedly, there are many students who take part in the foreign studies and learns many things about the foreign culture, and the methods of the academic studies being pursued there. Yet, this does not becomes the necessity for all the students to go to the foreign country and study there. This does not make sense in today's time of modern technology where the students use internet to study the lectures at home which are going on in reputed universities.

To sum up, the contention of the author is indefensible. It is contrary to the overwhelming evidence that it must not be mandatory for every student to visit another Nation for further studies. As long as some measurements are performed, or some cases are involved, the conclusion that trip to foreign nation for the purpose of studies must not be mandatory holds credit.