The letter propose the consumers refuse to buy Crust copper company (CCC)'s products unless the company abandon its mining plan on West Fredonia, a home of several endangered animal species, in order to prevent West Fredonia form natural disasters. such a suggestion is based on the fact that mining copper on West Fredonia ineluctantly result pollutions and that consumers' purchasing power can create great pressure on CCC to change the company's strategy. However, these two assumptions are filled with holes. Before rushing into conclusions, we need to answer at least three questions to better understand the picture.

Firstly, does the mining activity by CCC actually create unbearable negative influence for West Fredonia? The author of the letter prematurely assumes that CCC's purchasing of the land is bonded with future disasters for West Fredonia, which may not be true. Since the nature has its remarkable self-curing power, moderate resource exploration with scientific standards can even be a good thing for our environment. if the mining activities are conducted in nonpopulated areas where seldom animals inhabit, CCC could do little harm to the natural environment. The pollution that brought by mining activities may also be within limits if taken good care of. Thus, without understanding the degree of harm, the assumption that mining copper will create natural disasters does not hold water.

Secondly, is it realistic to rely on consumers to pressure CCC to change their mining plan? In other words, do consumers have enough incentive to refuse to buy CCC's product? The answer to this question is likely to be 'no' due to multiple possibilities. The consumers may have little room to choose products made by copper, which leave them with no choice but to use CCC's products. further, even if the consumers have much purchasing power, the majority of them may not care about protecting environment and therefore results in little pressure on CCC. if the assumptions above are true, then the argument will be significantly weakened.

Lastly, even if the consumers generate enough pressure for CCC, how much possible could CCC abandon its mining plans? As we are told by the letter, CCC has already bought over 10,000 square miles of land in West Fredonia and therefore it inevitably bears a significant transition cost. such a great cost can prevent CCC to change its business plan even under threatening situations. if that's true, then little can we do to stop CCC's mining activities.

In conclusion, the letter's argument does not hold unless further investigation and research are done. we need to understand the detailed situation of CCC's mining plan, West Fredonia's situation and consumers' background based on reliable research. Only then can we fully evaluate the proprosing recommendation in a fair and robust way.