The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum by the president of Humana University suggests that Humana University should imitate Omni University's online degree programs in order to boost the school enrollment and reduce the expenditure for residential houses and classrooms. However, such a suggestion is based on several untested assumptions and inadequate evidence about the nearby university's success in the rising number of online students and the substantial drop in the school's maintenance expenditure. There are three questions about the proposed assumptions and evidence that we need to answer before reaching into a solid and reliable conclusion,

Firstly, are these two universities comparable? In other words, does Humana University share the same programs and characteristics as Omni University? It is possible that Omni mainly provides courses in STEM areas, which makes Omni more suitable to transition to virtual education. Yet Humana may provide mostly art and social science programs, which need more face-to-face interactions and therefore hinders Humana's programs to go online. If the above scenario is true, then the conclusion does not hold water.

Secondly, what is the developmental cost for a new online educational system? The new expenditure spent on promoting online programs for Humana could be even higher than the expected cost savings from maintaining buildings, in which case higher spending in total will ensue. For this reason, a detailed budgeting plan is needed for us to consider whether initiating online programs is worthwhile.

Lastly, how much impact do online degree programs have on Omni's dropping cost in dormitory and classrooms? The memorandum assumes the transition to virtual programs is the most likely cause of the cut in expenditure. Nevertheless, there is no evidence to back up this statement. It is likely that Omni's number of offline students has been significantly decreasing these years, which in turn caused the cut in the cost of maintaining buildings. Therefore, systematic research is needed to figure out all the factors that impact Omni's building maintenance fee.

In conclusion, we need a comprehensive comparative analysis of the two schools, a budget plan for developing an online educational system, and thorough research for Omni's building maintenance situation to better evaluate the suggested recommendation.