We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

In the real world, one can always find people often uphold different perspectives of the same problem due to differences in experiences and their own interests. From the standards of beauty to the political stands, the world is filled with various voices, some are similar while some are contradictory. The prompt suggests that we will benefit more in terms of learning when communicating with those who share the same views with us. However, I mostly disagree with this argument for the following three reasons.

Firstly, soely talking to people who have similar views can easily lead to biasness, which is one of the most common reasons for conflicts, disputes, and illiteracy. For instance, ancient people used to believe that Earth is a level ground rather than a sphere. At that time, the scientists who challenge this so-called 'common sense' were being purged and even prosecuted. Such a tragedy was caused by people's willingness to believe in those who share the same belief. Turning a deaf ear to the challengers in this case, thus hampered the development of science and technology and blocked the most advanced scientific discovery to the mass majority. Should there be more people who are willing to listen to and learn from the challenging voices, human may make faster and greater progress in exploring the universe.

Secondly, contradictory and surprising comments with good reasons and supporting evidence are often of high value in terms of expanding our knowledge and enhancing our abilities. The learning journey itself is full of surprises and mind-blowing new discoveries. For example, Albert Einstein's Theory of Relativity was born by questioning the traditional views that time and space are absolute factors. Eistein obtained such 'absurd' conclusion through rigorous reasoning and logical inductions which earned him high recognition. Like Theory of Relativity, the huge progess in human history is always accompanied with challenges to traditional believes.

Lastly, those who we not agree with are more likely to bring us with new insights because it is often easier for us to approach and talk with those who share the same views comparing to those who we not agree with. Studies have shown that people who share the same economical status are more likely to uphold the same political stands and live in the same neighborhoods. It is easier to meet and talk daily with people who share similar standards with us comparing to those who are different. Therefore, we should consciously expose ourselves more to the voices that we do not normally hear to expand our horizons.

In conclusion, we can learn so much from people who we disagree with comparing to those who we share similar views. It is indeed difficult to step out of the comfort zone and listen to the views that we do not like. However, such an excuse should not block us from learning all the surprising facts and knowledge from those voices that worth listening.