The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In an information modern era, everywhere is filled with all sorts of peer pressure and comparison. From the clothes we wear to the job we have, from the sports team we join to the class we attend, people have become increasingly frequent to compare our lives with other so-called 'perfect examples', those gifted talents who are better than us in one way or another. Under such background, one can hardly avoid competition to flourish as a leader. Nevertheless, the prompt suggests the youth should be imbued with cooperation spirits, rather than competition spirits, to outstand as a successful leader in all industries. I tend to disagree with the prompt, arguing cultivating a competitive mindset is at least of equal significance to nurturing a cooperative mindset. The following lists three reasons to support my argument.

Firstly, leaders need a sense of aggressiveness in order to motivate other team members for achievements. If a leader does not have a competitive mind, how could he or she engage fully to lead the whole team for achieving goals? A hypothetical team leader can be collaborative but failed to lead the team to success. The leader may care for other people's feelings too much in a sense that he or she forgets what are the piorities for a team.

Secondly, people faces greater challenges when facing competition, comparing to being in a collaborative context. Research has shown babies and toddlers without any special guidance naturally exhibit bebaviors that promotes cooperation. This is because learning through day-to-day observation and imitation, most of the young people can learn cooperation. On the other hand, compete positively with other people is an ability that should be taught.

Last but not least, learning how to compete is not a bad thing, instead, compete is. It is not controversal to being a leader with both a cooperative mindset and a competitive mindset.