Essay topics: The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

From the day we born to beyond, we can not avoid being evaluated in all kinds of aspects in various manners. Some parents or teachers tend to use compliments to motivate children while others think a stricter discipline and a higher standard is what a child need in order to thrive in the future. As we enter the society as an adult employee, again, we become subordinates of leaders of different temperaments, either encouraging ones or pushy ones. Under such a background, the prompt suggests that the encouraging style should be promoted for the good of our socity, implying criticisms of one's weaknesses should be avoided. However, I mostly disagree with this argument. In my opinion, negative actions should not go without notice and praising should not be overwhelmed. The reasons are as follows.

Firstly, attention to misbehaviors brings composite results potentially, often mixed with positive effects. For instance, the well-known 'tiger mom' style education has been proved effective and beneficial to children based on scientific research. According to studies of developmental psychology, the parents who make strict rules with caring attitudes help their children grow up with a sense of strong self-discipline, good learning habits as well as a socialable mind. this finding may derive from the power of appropriate attention to the misbehaviors, correcting negative actions with clear guidance and abundant supports instead of simply ignoring them. Therefore, it is advisable to regulate the bad behaviors.

Secondly, too much compliments that deviate from reality can even hamper people's confidence and competence. Imagine a hypothetical child or an employee, who is being praised every day without good reasons. he or she will certainly reach a point when he or she needs to leave the previous educator, care-giver or employer and move on to the next life stage. At that time, the person will become very discomfit finding out he or she is not that outstanding as previously perceived. In this case, too much compliments is not a cure, but an addictive poison. On the contrary, if a person grow up with restrained praises based on good reasons, one can learn from those feedbacks to grow strengths and fit into the world better.

praises and criticisms provide feedbacks for people, which in turn create an reinforcing loop. educators, employers or parents should not avoid one and overuse the other. we need the power from both sides to derive best motivations for work and study.