The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or any other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition.

In an information overloaded modern era, everywhere is filled with all sorts of peer pressure and comparison. From the clothes we wear to the job we have, from the sports team we join to the class we attend, people have become increasingly frequent to compare our lives with other so-called 'perfect examples', those gifted talents who are better than us in one way or another. Under such a background, one can hardly avoid competition to flourish as a leader. However, the prompt suggests the youth should be imbued with cooperation spirits, rather than competition spirits, to outstand as a successful leader in all industries. I tend to disagree with the prompt, arguing cultivating a competitive mindset is at least of equal significance to nurturing a cooperative mindset. The following lists two reasons to support my argument.

Firstly, leaders need a sense of aggressiveness in order to motivate other team members for achievements. If a leader does not have a competitive mind, how could he or she engage fully to lead the whole team for achieving goals? A hypothetical team leader can be really collaborative but failed to lead the team to success due to a lack of invigorating spirit and the ambition to strive for No.1. The leader may care for other people's feelings too much in a sense that he or she forgets what the priorities for a team are. From this hypothetical example, we can conclude that a competitive spirit is a must for a great leader.

Secondly, people intrinsically face greater challenges when facing competition, comparing to being in a collaborative context. Research has shown babies and toddlers without any special guidance naturally exhibit bebaviors that promote cooperation. This is because learning through day-to-day observation and imitation, most of young people can learn the precious value of cooperation. On the other hand, compete positively with other people is an ability that should be taught. For instance, a politician in campaigns inevitably faces great stress and denigrations before inauguration. He or she needs to have the grit and perseverance to mitigate the negative feelings in such fierce competitions while focusing all the time and efforts to the most important fields. Therefore, isn’t the ability to compete worth to be taught to the future elites?

We are in a world where both competition and cooperation are prevalent. Cooperation makes united teams while competition makes teams stronger. Future leaders should be cultivated with both mindsets since childhood, for a brighter and a more beautiful future.