The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or any other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the more compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A good leader is someone who brings out the best from his team. The prompt suggests that the best way for any society to prepare its adolescent generation for leadership in government, industry or any other field is by planting a seed of cooperation in them. I would like to agree with the assertion and discuss a few points about how it stands true.

The skillset required for a good leader is not only limted to cooperation, but also requires persistence, compassion, decision making, critical thinking and many more. However, the most important factor is to be able to use these skills. An omniscient leader who lacks in proper implementation of aforementioned skills will do no good to the society, or any organization he or she works for.

Talking about cooperation, it is the most important aspect of leadership. A leader who does not cooperate with others is setting himself up for failure. For example, the president of the United States and the President of China are both individually successful leaders. But the trade war between United States and China has increased the tension between these two, which is slowly leading us towards the third world war. If only these two countries decide to come together and seal a deal which is beneficial for all, these tensions will automatically diminish. If they fail to do so, the consequences are extremely tragic and disadvantageous for both parties, which ultimately is a failure.

Another example is, the international tensions between India and Pakistan. The rivalry of India and Pakistan and their era long disputes over possession of Kashmir have only exacerbated the healthy relationship between these two countries over the years. If both of these countries come forward and cooperate with each other and agree to be on common grounds, everything will be solved. This will stop the imminent war and save lives of thousands of soldiers.

It must be acknowledged that the competition is part of the play, and it gives us an edge over our potential opponent. But excessive competition is toxic and eventually leads us to a tragedy. Thus, if we plan to live in a better future which values humanity and its precious aspects, then we must start investing in the youth, because ultimately they are the future leaders of our community. If today's kids are influenced with good morals and ethics, then they will stick with those principles for a long time and refrain themselves from indulging in unscrupulous activities.

In conclusion, if we instill a sense of cooperation in young people, then it will eventually help them to become a compassionate leader in government, industry or any other field and they will surely contribute to the greater good of the society.