Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

People who are in power are always seen as epitome of success, dedication, passion and perseverence. One must not forget that every successful professional was a newbie someday. A basic structure of any enterprise can be thought of as a pyramid; those who are at the top of the pyramid have few subordinates to follow their orders, and so on. Now, if we play with this structure by rearranging order of all delegates over a fixed period of time, it will not be much of a success as it seems to be.

In any field - business, politics, education or government - those in power have formulated certain policies and morals to be followed, on which the foundation of entire enterprise is built. If this arrangement is to be changed every 5 years, with changing leader, the fundamental policies and ettiquetes on which the enterprise is built may lost over the course of time; thereby beating the sole purpose of the company. For example, John is founder of company A, and he has a subordinate Alex. When John first founded a company, he made a set of rules to be followed strictly. Somehow, Alex, John's delegate, does not agree with few of the rules, but is working with John without any complaint. Once John steps down, and Alex comes in his position, he will obviously change the rules which he didn't agree with, thereby compromising basic principles of the company, which is harmful and may lead to chaos instead of success.

Any enterprise is rife with sycophants trying to please their boss with sweet and kind behaviour; such voracious people are a major threat to the company, as all they care about is power, and not the company or job or ennvironment they are working in. If we are to change the leadership in every five years, then there is a high chance that one of these greedy sycophant will come in power and might completely destroy the enterprise's reputation for his greed and lust for money.

As mentioned earlier, any enterprise reaches its apex with passion, dedication and hardwork of the leader. If one leader is doing extremely great in his reign, then it will be a huge loss of company if such a paragon personality has to step down after his 5 years of service. If he continues after 5 years, he will surely take the enterprise to great heights; otherwise, if next person who steps up as the leader does not satisfy his duties, then company will experience a downfall and it may take a brief period of time to recover from it.

It must be acknowledged that one leader ultimately has to step down someday, by giving his charge to his subordinate. This change of leadership opens up new ideas, new implementations and there is sufficient space for the growth of overall company. New leadership also means that one must learn from his superior's mistakes and has to be ready to avoid them in his tenure.

On the other hand, this new arrangement of leadership may disturb the working environment. For example, if any company changes its leaders every five years, then it might corrupt the spirit between peers. One would always want to stand out, in order to be nominated for the superior post; thereby increasing jealousy among coworkers and giving rise to politics, rumors, and cold wars, which is extremely harmful.

Finally, new leadership is not the best path to revitalize any enterprise as it has its own disadvantages. As long as the current leader is successful in his reign, one must not think of altering the authority as it will ultimately result in loss of company.