The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Mayor of the city of Hillview wrote a memo to the city council of Hillview pleading for authorization of a large campaign to attract the Autotech company to build its automobile manufacturing plant in their area. Mayor believes that the buliding and staffing of this plant will alleviate the problem of unemployment of thousands of residents of Hillview. For proper evaluation of this recommendation, a few questions must be answered properly.

Firstly, the Mayor suggests that The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this huge manufacturing plant. Using up this landfill might be a great environmental threat. More focus on the habitats of animals and birds who reside in this undeveloped landfill is required. If this landfill is utilized for the plant, then its environmental side effects on the fauna must be evaluated. If this plant poses a greater threat, then this campaign to attract the giant car manufacturer must be avoided.

Secondly, Mayor said that the Computech computer software programming company abandoned their national level facility in Hillview last year, burgeoning the unemployment in Hillview city. Instead of starting all over again and building a whole new plant at the undeveloped landfill, if we use this abandoned facility will minor changes according to the requirements of Autotech company, huge amount of resources will be saved. This approach is more thrifty. Building an entirely new facility is a prodigal use of resources. This factor must be taken into consideration in order to relieve the strain on city's budget.

Thirdly, Mayor suggests that company will be attracted to this place if they offer significant tax incentives. While this might work, but it would put excessive pressure on resident's pockets, as they would have to pay more taxes in order to compensate the overall tax income of the city. If the residents are already unemployed, then it will be difficult for them to thrive in such economical compromises.

Moreover, if the plant is to be built on this undeveloped landfill, it will take years to complete the plant and function properly. What are the remedies for unemployed people till the plant starts? If the plant takes 3 years to complete from today, the problem of unemployment still remains unsolved for next three years. What are the plans, however temporary, are to be implemented to reduce this unemployment in the city? More strategies should be discussed to tackle this problem.

Lastly, authorizing a large campaign just to attract a company will be a big financial risk. If the city spends all their resources on this campaign and the company refutes the tender, then it will exacerbate the situation. A backup plan must be ready before taking this big step.

In conclusion, the city council must think of all aspects of the consequences of this recommendation. By looking at the present condition and extrapolating, the council must decide whether to pass this recommendation or repudiate it.