Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Any government caters to the citizens, or the people of their respective territory. Any government has its own taste of cultural tradition, and it varies worldwide. The interesting thing about varied cultural traditions is that they speak for the past of their tradition and history of their culture, and the people who follow it.

It is obvious that major cities of any government are face of their respective territories; and anyone would want to keep their face clean, so as to put up a good image for the world to witness. For example, Mumbai City is a major city in India, and it is also the financial capital of the same country; and we all know that Mumbai is widely known for its diversity in cultures and traditions. Major cities are undoubtedly an important asset of any government, because they preserve the rich culture of the territory they reside in.

It can be considered that other minor cities which are significantly rich in cultural traditions also contribute to the overall growth of the government. In a country like India, major cities are more attracted by the western culture other than preserving its own; thus, many small towns in India are seen following their centuries-long traditions more passionately than it is seen in major cities. However, such small towns are undermined because the population density of the town or city they are living in.

On the other hand, many people who live in major cities for their education or job or business, tend to go to their native place (outside of the major city) to celebrate festivals. For example, a businessman who is originally from San Jose, lives in San Fransisco for his work related purpose; but tends to spend the thanksgiving with his family in San Jose.

However, the major cities are always the ones who are rich in preserving cultural traditions and to generate new traditions because the diversity of people confined in a small area. Each person has his/her own cultural beliefs and they add up to generate new traditions as they start living together in a major city. Also, this flexibility n tradition also attracts a significant amount of tourism, thus making it more popular globally.

In conclusion, it is true that governments must ensure that major cities should receive all the financial support in order to thrive, because it is the major cities who become the face of their respective government, also producing diverse traditions and eventually preserving them.