The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in arry other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviews about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company when read carefully reavealed a susggestion about its plan of advertising in the upcoming year. The director suggests that the Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget to advertising, so that their production reaches to myriad of public through advertising. However, to properly evaluate this recommendation, few questions must be answered.

Firstly, the director claims that the percentage of positive reviews about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. More emphasis on the specificity is required. If 'specific' means one movie out of ten, then this claim is a ruse. The company should present its statistics on total number of movies produced in the last year and total 'specific' movies which showed growth in the percentage of postive reviews. Proper evaluation of this data will elucidate the decision making process.

Secondly, the director claims that lack of public awareness about the availability of good movies is the main reason of behind decrease in the audience. It must be noted that the director also claims that only specific movies witnessed growth in positive reviews while others did not. If movies which are produced by Super Screen are not as good as the director portrays them to be, then it is evident that the problem is with their production and not the audience. An impartial review of all the movies produced in the past year must be done in order to determine the actual quality of production. If movies are exceptionally good, then more efforts must be taken in advertising them by reaching out to public. Otherwise, the company should put extra efforts in uplifting the quality of their movies.

Thirdly, director also claims that number of people who attended Super Screen-produced movies was decreased in the past year. While this is true, it must be determined if this problem is faced by only Super Screen company, or it is an ubiquitous problem for all the movie production companies in this area. If former is true, then the suggestion of increasing funds for advertising is a compelling solution to tackle this problem. While in the case of latter, this suggestion will prove to be waste of money as it is empirical that public has withdrawn its interest from watching movies in cinema's.

In conclusion, proper evidence and statistical data is required to evaluate this claim of increasing the share of advertising. Claims of director seem to be speculative and does not have any empirical data to prove that this change in funding scheme will work. If all the above-mentioned clauses turn out to be in favor of the director, then the company should go ahead and allocate a greater share of its budget to advertising team. But if any of these cases go otherwise, then the company should work out different schemes to compensate the loss of audience.