The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Skateboarding is a popular sport among young children, usually boys. A skateboard is nothing but a board, with 2 to 4 wheels attached to it, and it is used with help of our feet. Even though toddlers use skateboard to play with and have fun, it actually has a use. Whenever we have to go out for some work, skateboards can actually be helpful as an alternative to walking. It saves time and energy, and it also helps in balancing our body, making it a perfectly healthy sport for everyone.

Statistics suggest that over the pass two years, popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. This is not surprising given the aforementioned benefits of skateboarding. However, owners of Central Plaza have faced a steady decrease in their business, and skateboarding seems to be the reason of it. Shop owners believe that if they are able to check the users of skateboard in the area, their business will go up to previous levels of zenith.

On the other hand, there is no suffecient evidence to prove that downfall of Central Plaza's business is only because of skateboarding community in the area. Factors like poor service, unpleasant ambience and quality of products at sale must also be considered. If the store owners do not satisfy their customer with a proper service, they are likely to lose their business by losing their customers.

In addition to this, the dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza can also be one of the reasons why customers don't visit their. If the plaza is not clean and pleasant, no one would like to come and shop for their goods. Blaming skateboard users for this litter and vandalism is a baseless accusation, as anyone can contribute to the littering of the plaza.

It must be acknowledged that, with dramatic increase in skateboard users, the plaza is always crowded with people and thus makes it difficult for buyers to go around and purchase their groceries and other necessities. Such crowding has always been a major problem for shop owners. Also, with many people having access to the skateboard, they can easily travel to other supermarkets to buy other stuff; thereby decreasing the business of Central Plaza.

If the city prohibits skateboarding in Central Plaza, then children and other users might not have a proper place to practice this sport and maintain a healthy lifestyle.

Also, by considering factors which were mentioned earlier like poor service and lack of quality, there is no assurance that the business will return to its previous state after banning skateboarding in the Plaza; it will remain same as before because of obvious reasons. Also, there is no guarantee that Plaza will be clean after skateboarding is closed. Anyone can throw garbage anywhere at any time.

Finally, framing skateboard users as culprits of downfall in one's business is proposterous. One must also consider other factors such as service and quality of the product. People do not like to come to places with unpleasant litter spreaded everywhere, so lacking the ability to clean the Plaza can also be one of the reasons of decrease in business, and skateboard users can not be only reason for that. More emphasis is required on the assessment of quality and service provided by shop owners in plaza, and the cleanliness system of the plaza. After considering all other factors mentioned earlier, the city must take a decision on prohibiting the skateboard users.