The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum of the business manager of a television station has an anecdote that mentions how their Television Rating dropped and they were losing their business after devoting more time to national news and less time to weather and local news. He suggested that they should roll back to restore the time devoted to weather and local news in order to fix their losing grip on their business. But before we consider this conclusion as a final one, few points must be highlighted.

Firstly, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with station's coverage of weather and local news. But it is not mentioned that whether they were giving you merit for giving equal importance to national news or they were reproaching for lack of local news content. It might also be possible that their complaints were regarding inaccuracy of the data provided through news. It is also plausible that less important local news were given precedence over more important news to hide some facts. More focus is needed on the content of complaints to narrow down the actual problem of unhappiness of people.

Secondly, local businessmen who used to advertise during the late night news program started cancelling their advertising contracts with the company. There is no enough evidence to prove that increased attention to national news is the cause of this loss. A possibility of poorly employed advertising strategies must be taken into account in order to properly assess the cause of canceling advertising revenue. Another possibility can be thought of as late night news shows have very less audience to watch and thus the businesses have stopped their funding because of no significant growth in their own business.

To summarize, there is no clear mention on the content of complaints. It justs blatantly states the cause is due to less timespan allotted to local and weather news, but we must investigate further to narrow down a specific cause of the complaints. In addition to this, there is lack of information about local businessmen who refrained from advertising to the television station. We must dig deeper into marketing and advertising schemes of the television station and look for a fault.

Thus, it is impossible to state that going back to giving more time to local news and weather will restore their business to the zenith, as the prompt suggests insuffecient data to analyze.