The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A petition was sent by environmental protection group to residents of Youngtown. A part of which suggests that Smith Corporation should not be allowed to develop the land that is a part of Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is famous for their magnificent bird population and is an essential reason for survival of 300 bird species that live in Youngtown. The prompt suggests that no matter what the situation is, the plans of Smith Corporation to build a hotel in the allotted small part of land will cause only harm to the community which relies on tourists who visit Youngtown to see aesthetic beauty of birds and their habitats. Before agreeing to this petition, few questions must be answered.

Firstly, it is mentioned that a very small amount of land will be sold to Smith. It is necessary to investigate the population of birds and density of trees in that area. If bird population is lees and if paucity of trees is witnessed, then there is no harm in selling the land to Smith and allowing him to develop the land. In addition to this, methods of developing the land are not mentioned. It us true that using heavy machinary like cranes will disturb the entire habitat of the sanctuary, but if the company is promising not to breach the environmental restrictions, then it might employ a development technique which is friendly to birds community. There is no suffecient evidence which depicts disastrous consequences of development of small area of land in the sanctuary.

Secondly, it is mentioned that the Youngtown community relies on tourists who primarily visit there to see bird population. If the company is proposing to build a small hotel on the given land, it can be seen as an accomodation for the tourists. If the hotel is well suited for tourists to come and relax after wandering in the sanctuary, it will not only be beneficial for Youngtown, but also for the tourists as they will have a good place to refresh themselves. This win win situation is constantly being undermined by accuses of environmental damages which are advocated on the basis of insuffecient evidence. If the company is promising to preserve the sanctuary then this is an irrefutable deal which is beneficial for both.

Thirdly, if this hotel is built and ready then it will attract more tourists as the sanctuary will have readily available accomodation services for tourists who visit from different cities or states or even foreign countries. This way, the Youngtown community will gain more popularity and this will boost the tourism business.

In conclusion, it is evident that developing small area is innocuous if the company is promising to take care of all environmental restrictions which are needed to preserve sanctuary. If any corroborative evidence which breaches these restrictions is found, then the development must be stopped immediately. Till then, this plan of hotel is a good opportunity to attract abundance of tourists and have and benefit the Youngtown community.