The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would strengthen or weaken the argument.

In a letter to the editor of West Lansburg News, it's posited that local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. But assertion believes that the council should not allow the road to be built to ensure a healthy environment and in preserving the region's biodiversity. Before this conclusion is finalized, few questions must be answered.

Firstly, it is believed that tufted groundhogs were once numbered in the millions. However, this data is ambiguous, as no one knows the exact population of tufted groundhogs at present. This conclusion is drawn by referring to ancient records which is anachronistic. Exact population of these groundhogs must be determined in order to take a solid decision regarding development of the road. More focus is needed on this issue as it will be a key factor in the decision making process, as preserving this biodiversity is of utmost importance.

Secondly, the assertion suggests that the Eastern Carpenteria sea otter population has seen a decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. While this is true, we must not ignore the fact that this sanctuary is in the neighboring region which has different climate and entirely different habitats in the sanctuary. Downfall in the population is a serious concern, but this does not guarantee that West Lansburg will face similar issues. One cannot simply draw conclusions on his own by looking at other scenarios vicariously.

Thirdly, if council enforces strict rules of development which aid to preserving the biodiversity and ensures healthy environment, and the developers are happy to stay true and abide to them, there will be no harm. Once the devlopers are legally bound to preserve the sanctuary while developing, they can be sued any time they violate their boundaries. There is no assurance that developing roads will cause only harm and nothing else. The assertion is based on remote assumption and insuffecient data.

Lastly, since local developers are showing interest in developing an access road along the edge of the wetlands, the council should consider it as an opportunity to gather funds for the maintenance of the sanctuary. If the access roads are built and ready, then the council can apply tickets to visit the sanctuary and thus can make a decent amount of money from it. Which will ultimately contribute to the betterment of habitats. Also, nature lovers will be able to come and experience this pristine form of nature.

To summarize, there is no harm to give access to develop roads along the edge of wetlands as long as the developers are legally bound to obey the rules enforced by the council. There is no strong evidence that this development will hamper the biodiversity and result into unhealthy environment, and councul should consider allowing local developers to build an access roads along the edge.