Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

hildren are known as a gift of god to the mankind. They are innocent and naive and easily tractable. When a child grows up, many factors present in his rudimentary stages have a long term influence on its life. The prompt suggests that few people believe that increasing violence in media is the main reason of increasing violence in our society, specifically among children. While others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are much more powerful influence on children's behavior. Children are ingenuous and they believe anything which they see around them, without knowing the actual truth.

It is true, that parental role models play a huge role in children's behavior. Family's cultural background, financial status are the two biggest differentiators in children's life. If a child is born in a financially weak family, his only life goal will be to come over the indigence and live a financially stable life. On the other hand, if a child is born with a silver spoon, then he has nothing to worry about and is likely to reach greater heights in his life, as he has easy access to the required resources.

Family's cultural background plays a major role as well. Any human being is first defined by his culture, and then his achievements. This taxonomy of humans have existed for a long time and each and every culture has their own tradition. Hobbys, interests, taste of music, food, everything is dependent upon the family's cultural background. Jewish people are known for their Bar Mitzvah. Hindu Brahmins are known for their proficiency in holy rituals; Muslims are known for their Eid and many more examples co-exist.

In addition to this, the assertion suggests that peer groups also has a powerful influence on children's behavior. We, as adults, put a lot of thought while making friends. But as children, we do not think and deliberately make friends. No child wants to be left out, and thus, it can do anything for his friend's attention. An average child with a good company will always be successful, because he surrounded himself with people who helped him build himself. A super talented child with a bad company will never do anything useful because he is busy in messing around with his friends.

On the other hand, media acts as great enablers. As mentioned earlier, children believe anything and everything they see around them. They are not wise enough to comprehend and analyze the cause and effect of the situation they are witnessing. Thus, increasing violence in the media acts subliminally on children's mind, and thus chlidren start embracing the dark and violent side of themselves. Not only media, but movies which portray violence as a genre also play a huge role. Movies cast actors which are role models of children, and when an actor does something really cool, the children is overwhelmed and tries to emulate the action due to adulation.

In conclusion, the prompt posits two facts juxtaposing the influence on children and both facts are true to some extent.