The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Music is a form of art which brings people together. It is one of those art forms which can directly touch your heart with minimum efforts. Over the years, music has proven to be my own companion whenever I was feeling blue; it helped me find solitude and peace in this chaotic place called 'The Outside World'. The prompt suggests that the real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assesed until the musician has been dead for couple of years. It believes that the musician's fame and influence interferes with the honest assessment, thereby tempering the actual rating of the music. I would like to disagree with the assertion by discussing few of points given below.

If a musician is really talented, most of his creations will always be above par. Music is undoubtedly a combination of hardwork and talent; and the one who devotes himself to this mellifluous art form will always make the most out of it. For example, a world renowned musician and artist A. R. Rehman has produced many soundtracks which are lauded all around globe. His fame and his influence has nothing to do with the assessment or quality of the music he is producing. The predilection towards his songs will last eternally.

Similarly, famous american music bands such as Queen or The Beatles were extremely famous in 1900s, and the music which they produced is still everyone's favorite. Another musician called AVICII, who is not among us, had created really good music when he was alive, and his music is still appreciated. Famous american band, Linkin Park, is still fan's favorite after Chester Bennington's sudden demise. He is still recognized as one of the best musicians to live.

However, it must be acknowledged that this case is not true for everyone. Many musicians like XXXTentacion were at top of their respective careers and created some really lousy music. Their grasp and knowledge of music was limited to attract fame and money. There are several other examples where musicians produced hit songs only because of their popularity and not because of the talent and quality. Thus, the assertion stands true in such cases.

On the other hand, artists who worship music and have devoted themselves to the growth of their art form will never put themselves in such a position where they will have to face criticism. Also, in this era of internet, where online trolling is extremely common and internet is nothing but a platform where you get 'mean' comments for anything you do, people will always state their true opinions regardless of the fact that the musician is famous or not. If one likes the music, he will praise it, if not, he won't. Thus, death of a popular musician isn't the requirement to assess their work with honesty.

In conclusion, I would like to say that assertion is not entirely true and music is not only about the fame of the musician but also about dedication and perseverence and devotion. Many popular musicians who have put their heart and soul into it are more likely to be remembered till the end of time, and thus their death won't change their affability and quality of the work they have produced.