An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The job of a medical practitioner or a doctor is considered as the toughest job as they have to deal with someone's life. One has to go through a rigorous process of academics in order to call himself a doctor. A good doctor has knowledge of all fields and knows how to deal with any ailment the patient has. The prompt suggests that an ailing patient should have an easy access to his or her doctor's record of similarly affected patients. It believes that having such access will help the patient determine the competency of the doctor to treat his/her medical emergency. I would like cast light upon few ominous consequences which will result from such liberty of access to records.

Firstly, the relation of a doctor and his patient is based completely on professional privacy. A patient is most vulnerable in front of his doctor, and only the doctor knows what the patient is going through. If any other patient having similar ailments gains access to such records will breach the privacy of other patients and the entire profession of doctors will become unsafe. Moreover, a patient need both medical and mental support when he goes to see a doctor for his check up; if he comes to know that the doctor is undermining privacy protocols, the patient might hesitate to give proper information for his ailments, thereby resulting in a failed or faulty diagnosis. This compromises the safety and treatment of the ailment, thereby contradicting the sole purpose of medical practice.

Secondly, if such sensitive information falls into hands of apathetic people, then it might be used to blackmail other patients and will lead to extortion. This scenario will disturb the entire society and it will lose faith in doctors eventually. In addition to this, a person suffering through ailment is vulnerable, and he/she is an easy target to make some money. Hence, giving access to such sensitive information can also be used to sell fake or cheap medicines to patients. Many scandals of drugs and medicines might occur as people believe anyone who promises to heal their pain. This deception is extremely harmful for a patient as it will worsen the situation.

Thirdly, if patients have easy access to the records, they might stop visiting the doctor and directly consult other patients to ask what medicines they took in order to cure the ailment. For example, if John is suffering from cancer, and by referring to records, he comes to know that Alex (his colleague) had also suffered from cancer and was cured from it, it is only natural that John will ask Alex about his treatment, and will emulate Alex's treatment as his own in order to be cured. Ultimately, this breaches the privacy of Alex's treatments, and John is also taking medicines which were not suggested by his doctor, but his friend.

To summarize, it is a good thought that a patient should be able to determine the competency of a doctor to treat his/her medical ailment; but it is also true that many practitioners who cannot treat a particular disease always suggests another doctor who can treat it. It is completely unnecessary to make the medical history of other patients easily accessible to patients as it will compromise privacy and may result in a severe disaster in society, thereby causing chaos.