An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

An international development organization has come forward with a solution to cure the vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus. The solution is, a newly engineered breed of millet which is contains high amount of vitamin A.

However, there is not enough evidence to prove that this newly engineered millet has no other side effects and will not harm its consumer. It is plausible that side effects (if any) may or may not be handled by the consumer, thus worsening the situation of impecunious people of Tagus. It is not suitable to treat citizens of Tagus as test subjects of newly engineered millet.

Since millet is already common food in Tagus, the international development organization presumes that people of Tagus will readily adopt this new variety of millet in their regular cuisine. In order for this to occur, the organization has offered subsidies to farmers to mass produce this newly produced species of millet, which costs more than regular millet.

While vitamin A deficiency is a severe problem, and boosting vitamin A seems to be a plausible solution, it cannot be concretely concluded that this new species of millet will exactly replicate other nutritional content of regular millet, and not entirely focus only on boosting of vitamin A.

In addition to this, only farmers are paid for buying subsidies of millet, but this does not specify the market cost of it. Even after paying farmers for subsidies, if regular millet is cheaper than this newly harvested vitamin A rich millet, citizens of Tagus will blatantly choose the regular millet based on their financial condition. Which makes the mass production of this new species completely redundant, which will result in a huge loss of already impoverished farmers.

If government of Tagus puts everything to promote this new type of millet, there is no strong insight that they will get a commensurate response because of the aforementioned reasons; and the aftereffects of this new type of millet are skeptical due to lack of evidences.

Finally, it can be said that the fact that this new species is not tested undermines the mass production of this new type of millet as it does not promise entire sale of the harvest. Also, there is no enough evidence to anticipate the response of citizens of Tagus to adopt this new variety. Farmers who are own paid subsidies of this crop are more likely to go into loss because of high cost of this millet. The international development organization must provide more concrete and promising insights for the government to promote this new variety of millet.